Skip to Page Content
banner top art gif
office title gif
NOAA Fisheries
Office of Protected Resources
Acropora palmata thicket on Mona Island, Puerto Rico. Andy Bruckner, 1996Coho salmon painting, Canadian Dept of Fisheries and OceansMonk seal, C.E. BowlbyHumpback whale, Dr. Lou Herman
banner art gif
Programs
Conservation, Protection, & Recovery
Species of Concern
Listing of Species
Recovery of Species
Marine Mammal Conservation Plans
Cooperation with States
Grants to Tribes
Interagency Consultation
   Biological Opinions

Human Impacts
Fisheries Interactions (bycatch)
Ocean Sound/Acoustics
Ship Strikes
Viewing Wildlife

International Cooperation

Marine Mammal Health & Stranding
Marine Mammal National Database
National Tissue Bank
Prescott Grants
Unusual Mortality Events
  Contact OPR
Glossary
OPR Site Map

inner curve gif

Members of the Pelagic Longline Take Reduction Team (PLTRT)

Marine Mammal Biologists

1. Bill McLellan, Biology and Marine Biology
University of North Carolina Wilmington
601 South College Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28403
Ph: (910) 962-7266
Email: mclellanw@uncw.edu

2. Damon Gannon, Director
Bowdoin Scientific Station on Kent Island
c/o Dept. of Biology
Bowdoin College
6500 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
Ph: (207) 798-4267
Email: dgann on@bowdoin.edu

Alternate:
Dr. Andrew Read
Duke University Marine Laboratory
135 Duke Marine Lab Road
Beaufort, NC 28516
Ph: (252) 504-7590
Email: aread@duke.edu

Fisheries Biologists

3. Tim Werner
Consortium for Wildlife Bycatch Reduction
New England Aquarium
Central Wharf
Boston, MA 02110-3399
Ph: (617) 226-2137
Cell: (978) 257-7903
Email: twerner@neaq.org

4. David Kerstetter
NOVA Southeastern University
Oceanographic Center
8000 North Ocean Drive
Dania Beach, FL 33004
Email: kerstett@nova.edu
Ph: (954) 262-3664

Regional Fishery Management Council

5. Rich Seagraves
Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council
300 S. New Street
Room 2115 Federal Building
Dover, DE 19904
Ph: (302) 674-2331 x14
Email: rseagraves@mafmc.org

Environmental Organizations

6. Brendan Cummings
Center for Biological Diversity
P.O. Box 549
Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Ph: (760) 366-2232 x304
Fax: (760) 366-2669
Email: bcummings@biologicaldiversity.org

7. Sharon Young
Humane Society of the United States
22 Washburn St.
Sagamore Beach, MA 02562
Ph: (508) 833-0181
Email: syoung@hsus.org

8. TBD
The Ocean Conservancy
449 Central Avenue, Suite #200
St. Petersburg, FL 33701

9. Sierra Weaver
Defenders of Wildlife
1130 17 th St. NW
Washington, DC 20036
Ph: (202) 772-3274
Email: sweaver@defenders.org

10. Beth Lowell
Oceana
1350 Connecticut Ave, 5th floor
Washington, DC 20036
Ph: (202) 833-3900
Email: blowell@oceana.org

Marine Mammal Commission Representatives

11. Tim Ragen
Marine Mammal Commission
4340 East-West Hwy.
Bethesda, MD 20814
Ph: (301) 504- 0087
Email: tragen@mmc.gov

Alternate:
David Laist
Marine Mammal Commission
4340 East-West Hwy.
Bethesda, MD 20814
Ph: (301) 504-0087
Email: dlaist@mmc.gov

Fishing Industry Representatives

12. Scott Rucky
Fishing Vessel Dakota
15 Huntting Lane
East Islip, NY 11730
Ph: (631) 224-4820
Email: dakfish@aol.com

Alternate:
Marty Scanlon
40 Grissom Way
Hauppauge, NY 11788
Ph: (631) 234-8090
Email: proii@fnol.net

13. Dan Mears
Fishing Vessel Monica
P.O. Box 324
Barnegat Light, NJ 08006
Ph: (609) 226- 4082Email: fvmonica@aol.com

Alternate:
Eric Burcaw
Fishing Vessel Lori-Marie
10 Crestview Dr.
Seaville, NJ 08230
Ph: (609) 390-9592
Email: lmtuna@aol.com

14. Gail Johnson
Fishing Vessel Seneca
34 Edgewater Colony Rd.
Harpswell, ME 04079
Ph: (207) 833-6083
Email: Pocahontas@gwi.net

15. Jeff Oden
P.O. Box 374
Hatteras, NC 27943
Ph: (252) 475-0973
Email: slshcrkwtrwks@aol.com

16. Terri Beideman
Blue Water Fishermen's Association
P.O. Box 779
Forked River, NJ 08731
Ph: (609) 891-8672
Email: terri@bwfa-usa.org

17. Vince Pyle
Fishing Vessel Carol Ann
629 Northeast 3rd St.
Dania, FL 33004
Ph: (954) 612-8747
Fax: (954) 925-6336
Email: afbdania1@ bellsouth.net

Alternate:
Greg O'Neill
P.O. Box 606
Dania Beach, FL 33004
Ph: (954) 925-6336
Fax: (954) 925-0622

18. Glenn Delaney
Blue Water Consultant
601 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Suite 900
Washington, DC 20004
Ph: (202) 434-8220
Email: grdelaney@aol.com

19. Dewey Hemilwright
FV Tar Baby
P.O. Box 667
Wanchese, NC 27981
Ph: (252) 255-5791
Email: fvtarbaby@embarqmail.com

State and Federal Representatives:

20. Fentress "Red" Munden
P.O. Box 1165
Moorehead City, NC 28557
Ph: (252) 726-9015
Cell: (252) 241-9341
Email: fen.munden@gmail.com

21. Laura Engleby
Southeast Regional Office
263 13th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Ph: (727) 824-5791
Fax: (727) 824-5309
Email: Laura.Engleby@noaa.gov

22. Kristy Long
Office of Protected Resources
1315 East-West Hwy., Room 13738
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Ph: (301) 427-8402
Fax: (301)427-2522
Email: Kristy.Long@noaa.gov

Updated: March 15, 2013

NOAA logo Department of Commerce logo