Contact: Connie Barclay FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 2014 Regional Fishery Management Council Appointments
                       (301) 427-8029 June 26, 2014

U.S. Commerce Department announces 2014 regional fishery council appointments

The U.S. Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 22 new and returning members to the eight regional fishery management councils that partner with NOAA Fisheries Service to manage ocean fish stocks. The new and reappointed council members begin their three-year terms on August 11.

The councils were established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act to prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their regions. NOAAs Fisheries Service works closely with the councils as plans are developed, and then reviews, approves and implements the fishery management plans. Council members represent diverse groups, including commercial and recreational fishing industries, environmental organizations and academia. They carry out the act’s requirements to end overfishing, rebuild fish stocks and manage them sustainably.

“All of us at NOAA Fisheries are eager to start working with our new council members, and to continue the work we’ve been doing with returning members,” said Eileen Sobeck, assistant NOAA administrator for fisheries. "The partnerships we have with the councils are more important than ever in order to continue the positive momentum we’ve been making with federally managed species in recent years.”

Each year, approximately one-third of the total 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils are appointed by the Secretary of Commerce. The Secretary selects members from nominations submitted by the governors of fishing states, territories and tribal governments.

Council members are appointed to both obligatory (state-specific) and at-large (regional) seats. Council members serve a three-year term and can be reappointed to serve three consecutive terms. Asterisks preceding a member’s name indicate a reappointment.

New England Council
The New England Council includes members from Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2014 will fill four at-large seats.
At-large seats:
* Thomas D. Dempsey (Massachusetts)
  Elizabeth “Libby” M. P. Etrie (Massachusetts)
* Peter T. Kendall (New Hampshire)
* Mary Beth Nickell-Tooley (Maine)
Mid-Atlantic Council
The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The appointees for 2014 will fill obligatory seats for Maryland, North Carolina, New York and Pennsylvania and one at-large seat.
Obligatory seats:
* G.(George) W. Elliott (Pennsylvania)
* Francis “Dewey” Hemilright, Jr. (North Carolina)
* Howard J. King, III (Maryland)
* John G. McMurray (New York)
At-large seat:
* Laurie A. Nolan (New York)
South Atlantic Council
The South Atlantic Council includes members from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The appointees for 2014 will fill two at-large seats.
At-large seats:
  William “Chester” Brewer, Jr. (Florida)
  Mark E. Brown (South Carolina)
Caribbean Council
The Caribbean Council includes members from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointee for 2014 will fill an obligatory seat for Puerto Rico.
Obligatory seat:
  Marcos R. Hanke (Puerto Rico)
Gulf Council
The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. The appointees for 2014 will fill three at-large seats.
At-large seats:
* Pamela J. Dana (Florida)
  Gregory W. Stunz (Texas)
  David A. Walker (Alabama)
Pacific Council
The Pacific Council includes members from California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. The appointees for 2014 will fill an obligatory seat for Washington and one at-large seat.
Obligatory seat:
* Richard “Rich” H. Lincoln (Washington)
At-large seat:
* Jeffrey “Jeff” N. Feldner (Oregon)
North Pacific Council
The North Pacific Council includes members from Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2014 will fill an obligatory seat for Alaska and an obligatory seat for Washington.
Obligatory seats:
* John J. Henderschedt (Washington)
  Simon Kinneen (Alaska)
Western Pacific Council
The Western Pacific Council includes members from American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The appointees for 2014 will fill an obligatory seat for Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands and two at-large seats.
Obligatory seat:
* John E. Gourley (Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands)
At-large seats:
* Edwin “Ed” A. Ebisui, Jr. (Hawaii)
* Frederick M. Rice (Hawaii)

NOAA’s mission is to understand and predict changes in the Earth's environment, from the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun, and to conserve and manage our coastal and marine resources. Join us on FacebookTwitter and our other social media channels.
On the Web:
NOAA’s Fisheries Service:

The 2013 Report to Congress on Apportionment of Membership on the Regional Fishery Management Councils

- 30 -